VC-7053
Treatments & SpaProduct dossier
Zero Skin Flares in 228 Patients Switching From Dupixent to Rinvoq
Zero of 228 patients flared within 16 weeks of switching from DUPIXENT to RINVOQ, per an analysis presented at the 2026 Fall Clinical Dermatology Conference.
Counter notes
- 0 of 228 patients had a skin flare within 16 weeks of switching from DUPIXENT to RINVOQ.
- Itch flares occurred in 3.6% of LEVEL UP switchers (5 of 139) and 4.8% of HEADS UP switchers (1 of 21).
- Analysis presented at the 2026 Fall Clinical Dermatology Conference in Las Vegas.
- 52.7% of LEVEL UP switchers stayed on the 15-mg Rinvoq dose for the full period.
- The study was a post hoc analysis; safety data for switchers was not reported.
By Daniel Okafor
Not one of 228 eczema patients who switched from DUPIXENT (dupilumab) to RINVOQ (upadacitinib) experienced a skin flare in the 16 weeks after the switch. That is the headline finding of an analysis presented at the 2026 Fall Clinical Dermatology Conference in Las Vegas and reported by Dermatology Times.
The data will land on dermatologists' desks fast. It addresses the single biggest anxiety in treatment switching: losing ground mid-change.
What does the analysis actually show?
The analysis pooled data from two head-to-head trials, LEVEL UP and HEADS UP, in which RINVOQ outperformed DUPIXENT. It included patients with moderate-to-severe eczema who had failed to reach at least 75 percent improvement on DUPIXENT before switching.
The numbers break down as follows:
- 201 patients with flare data came from LEVEL UP; 27 came from HEADS UP.
- Zero of the 228 had a skin flare, defined as a jump of at least 6.6 points on EASI (a standard eczema severity score).
- Itch flares affected 3.6 percent of LEVEL UP patients (5 of 139) and 4.8 percent of HEADS UP patients (1 of 21).
The itch analysis had a narrower base. Researchers counted an itch flare as a rise of at least 4 points on a 10-point scale, so only patients whose itch measured 6 or lower at the switch were included.
Dosing details matter for clinical practice. In LEVEL UP, every patient who switched started on the 15-mg dose of RINVOQ, with the option to move up to 30 mg depending on skin response. Just over half — 52.7 percent — stayed on the lower dose for the entire period.
Why switching has felt like a gamble
Patients and physicians have a shared fear here. The study authors point to the worry about losing "partial disease control" as something that can make switching decisions harder. They say the findings may help guide conversations with patients concerned about their skin or itch getting worse.
That worry is not irrational. A treatment that only partly works still delivers something. Giving it up has meant accepting a window of uncertainty.
What does this change for patients stuck on a partially effective regimen? It gives their dermatologists a concrete number — zero flares in 228 switchers over 16 weeks — to anchor the discussion.
How the two drugs differ
DUPIXENT is an injectable biologic that blocks the IL-4 receptor. RINVOQ is a once-daily oral pill from a different class of drugs called JAK inhibitors (medicines that block inflammation-driving enzymes inside cells). RINVOQ is also the molecule behind Europe's newly approved alopecia areata pill.
The format difference alone — injection versus pill — shapes adherence and patient preference. The new flare data adds a safety-of-transition argument on top.
What the limits are
The caveats are real, and the reporting is candid about them:
- This was a post hoc analysis, meaning researchers re-examined data from trials designed to answer a different question.
- HEADS UP contributed only 28 patients in total.
- The skin-flare results only include people who had data at the study checkpoints.
- Safety data was not reported for the patients who switched.
Small subgroup counts and missing safety reporting mean the zero-flare figure is encouraging, not definitive. HEADS UP's 27 flare-data patients cannot carry statistical weight on their own.
The practical takeaway for patients whose current eczema treatment has stopped delivering: ask a dermatologist what the options are before deciding anything. Changing course does not necessarily mean losing the ground already gained. With head-to-head trial data now quantifying the transition risk, that conversation has evidence behind it for the first time.
via dermatologytimes.com (Original)
More from Daniel Okafor
Show full bio
News editor covering money, funding and market shifts around skincare, haircare, makeup, fragrance, nails at Eurasian Beauty Journal.
65 articles
Also on the counter
- AAD Issues First-Ever Guidelines for Treatment-Resistant Adult Eczema
- Eczema Gets a Beauty Makeover — and a Reality Check
- 47% of Adults Say Their Skin Is More Sensitive Than Five Years Ago
- EltaMD Enters Post-Procedure Care With EGF Serum and Cream
- Briana Banos on Topical Steroid Withdrawal and Letting Go of 'Perfect' Skin