VC-4062
SkincareProduct dossier
EltaMD Enters Post-Procedure Care With EGF Serum and Cream
EltaMD claims its new EGF serum calms redness in 15 minutes. The professional-only duo launches into a contested post-procedure market with brand-run data.
Counter notes
- EltaMD's serum neutralized visible redness in 15 minutes in a 12-week study of 33 subjects, per the brand.
- The serum contains 3% Amino Acid Restore Complex and 1% EGF Tripeptide; the cream carries 2.5% and 0.5% respectively.
- A single cream application reduced dryness 41%, per an eight-week study of 31 subjects.
- The system is sold only through participating skin-health professionals; serum and cream prices were not disclosed.
- The regimen pairs with a $38 cleanser and a $53 green-tint SPF 50.
EltaMD says its new serum neutralized visible redness in 15 minutes in a 12-week study of 33 subjects with sensitive skin. That claim anchors the brand's first move beyond sunscreen into post-procedure recovery: the Skin Recovery Regenerating Rapid Recovery Serum and Cream, sold only through participating skin-health professionals.
Both products pair EltaMD's Amino Acid Restore Complex with an EGF (epidermal growth factor) Tripeptide blend. The serum carries 3 percent of the complex and 1 percent EGF Tripeptide, plus hyaluronic acid, allantoin and cica. The cream contains 2.5 percent of the complex, 0.5 percent EGF Tripeptide and a 2 percent lipid blend, with ceramides, allantoin and cucumber extract.
What do the studies show?
The brand reports the same 33-subject study found improvements of 14.5 percent in skin laxity, 11 percent in elasticity and 19 percent in tightness. In a separate four-week split-face assessment of 15 subjects after RF microneedling with Morpheus8 at 2mm, the serum reduced skin temperature by 6 percent.
For the cream, EltaMD cites an eight-week study of 31 subjects. A single application, the brand says, delivered a 41 percent reduction in dryness, a 36 percent improvement in radiance and a 20 percent improvement in hydration. In a two-week split-face assessment of 15 subjects after Clear + Brilliant fractional laser, all participants agreed their skin felt smoother and looked more radiant.
The caveats: EltaMD did not disclose the studies' designs beyond sample sizes, and it released no pricing for the serum or the cream. The brand, not an independent body, conducted and reported the research.
How does the regimen work?
EltaMD positions the two launches inside a four-step system:
- Skin Recovery Amino Acid Cleanser — $38
- Rapid Recovery Serum — price not disclosed
- Rapid Recovery Cream — price not disclosed
- UV Skin Recovery Green Tint Broad-Spectrum SPF 50 — $53
The professional-exclusive distribution signals the strategy. EltaMD wants dermatologists to prescribe the system after laser treatments and microneedling, then convert patients to daily use.
"Patients are investing more than ever in professional aesthetic treatments and want to protect those results," says Dr. Annie Woo, senior director of professional affairs at Colgate-Palmolive Skin Health Group. "We designed this system with dermatologists to bridge the gap between post-procedure recovery and daily skincare, providing instant soothing relief while building habits that protect their treatment investment long-term. It's built to keep working well after the recovery window ends."
Solana Beach, CA dermatologist Melanie D. Palm, MD, endorses that framing. "After lasers or microneedling, patients need products that cool and calm the skin quickly without feeling heavy or irritating," Palm says. "Proper at-home post-procedure care is critical to meeting these immediate needs while maximizing clinical outcomes and sustaining treatment results."
Why it matters
The launch pits EltaMD, owned by Colgate-Palmolive Skin Health Group, against established post-procedure lines from physician-dispensed brands. The EGF positioning also invites scrutiny: growth-factor claims remain contested in dermatology, and the brand published no peer-reviewed data here.
The products are available only through participating skin-health professionals. EltaMD lists more information at EltaMD.com.
Whether the 15-minute redness claim survives independent testing will determine if this system becomes a clinic staple or another prestige recovery line.
via go.skimresources.com (Original)
More from Grace Kim
Show full bio
Correspondent covering technology and product news in skincare, haircare, makeup, fragrance, nails at Eurasian Beauty Journal.
64 articles